As soon as I saw the tracklist for George FitzGerald‘s sophomore record, All That Must Be, my mind focused on one track in particular, ‘Half-Light – Night Version’ featuring Tracey Thorne, for a couple of reasons. Most of my excitement was due to Tracey Thorne’s return to the electronic music world, even if it was only one song. Her honey-whiskey voice plays perfectly against a 4/4 and her vulnerable storytelling lyrics infuse the music with a heavy dose of humanity. In short, it’s pretty much magic.

The other thing I noticed was the bit about the “Night Version.” Logic would dictate that a day version must exist, and if so, how long would it be until it was released to the world? It turns out the answer to that question is 230 days, and I think it was well worth the wait.

Where the Night version was a late night staring at the ceiling, alone but for you and your darkest thoughts, the Day version is the alternate reality where you went out to dance in a dark club with your friends.

The duo of remixes also served to announce an album of All That Must Be remixes, titled just so, consisting of 15 remixes. Some we’ve heard already, like the ‘Burns’ remixes from Moby and DJ Seinfeld, but there are a number of unreleased remixes as well, namely from TOKiMONSTA and DJ Tennis. It’s unclear whether the Club mix of ‘Burns’ (Track 14) is Lane 8’s club version or another one. It’d be a little awkward if he omitted that, but who knows, maybe they have a beef. Look for the album’s release on November 30th.

George is rounding out the year with a UK and European tour. I’ll paste the details below the visualizer and track list for your convenience. Also, if YouTube isn’t your speed, you can listen to the ‘Half-Light’ mixes on your favorite streaming services here. Don’t ever say that ElectroJams didn’t do anything for you.


All That Must Be RemixesAll That Must Be Remixes tracklist:
01 Half-Light (Day Version)
02 Roll Back (Earlham Mystics Remix)
03 Outgrown (Sandunes Remix)
04 Half-Light (Special Request Remix)
05 Rollback (TOKiMONSTA Remix)
06 Passing Trains (Kornél Kovács & Matt Karmil Remix)
07 The Echo Forgets (DJ Tennis Remix)
08 Burns (DJ Seinfeld Remix)
09 Burns (HAAi’s Sci-fi Hi-fi Remix)
10 Burns (Moby Remix edit)
11 Burns (Moby Remix)
12 Half-Light (Special Request Dub Remix)
13 Half-Light (Day Version radio edit)
14 Burns (Club mix)
15 Echo Forgets (Extended mix)

All That Must Be Remixes will be available digitally HERE.

George FitzGerald Live Tour Dates 2018
October 25th – London, UK @ EartH (formerly Hackney Arts Centre) – SOLD OUT
October 26th – London, UK @ EartH (formerly Hackney Arts Centre) – SOLD OUT
October 27th – Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall & Canteen
October 28th – Bristol, UK @ Motion
November 2nd – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3
November 25th – London, UK @ Shepherd’s Bush Empire (DJ) w/ Jon Hopkins & Alexis Taylor
November 23rd Berlin, Germany @ Säälchen
November 29th – Paris, France @ Badaboum
November 30th – Borgerhout, Belgium @ TRIX Centrum voor Muziek
December 1st – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso Noord
December 15th – Dublin, Ireland @ Button Factory