Exciting news today from UK and sometimes Berliner producer George FitzGerald with (finally!) a release date for his sophomore album, All That Must Be alongside a second track release from the impending album, its video, and a new batch of tour dates.

After the gorgeous and riveting ‘Burns,’ I was stoked to learn that it was part of a larger work and began a kind of mental pacing as I waited for more information. It’s a perfect song, immediately engaging and painfully addictive, and I’ve been looking forward to see where he goes from there. While I don’t know the breadth of the overall album, his new track ‘Roll Back’ (featuring Lil Silva) remains in something of a sad, vulnerable space. And that’s double sad in the video, which you can check out at the bottom of this post. According to George,

“’Roll Back’ is a sad song but there was a lot of joy in making it with Lil Silva. Late night sessions in London and Bedford. Empty trains and night buses home. Things just clicked perfectly in the studio.” 

All That Must Be is due out March 9th on Domino Records, and sees FitzGerald exploring new ways of writing music and in performing over the past year and a half, and it will feature collaborations with Bonobo and Tracey Thorn (of Everything But the Girl fame. If that’s not enough to get you riled up, consider her collab with Massive Attack and I’m confident you’ll hop on the hype train with me). In his own words:

“I wanted to mirror the uncanniness you feel when a massive event happens in your life”, explains FitzGerald,  “Everything looks and sounds the same but it’s somehow different. Your surroundings are less intelligible.”

All That Must Be is a record with its psychological roots in two cities – Berlin and London. It documents a period of time when FitzGerald’s decade-long stint in the German capital came to an abrupt end, seeing him back in his hometown of London and becoming a father for the first time. It was against this backdrop that All That Must Be started to form and the result is a record that deals with the processes of upheaval, change, acceptance and renewal that affect us all.

It’s not just his recording or songwriting process that’s changed. In his upcoming tour, he’ll be bringing a new live show with a couple mates accompanying him. You can get a sneak peek in the live ‘Burns’ video recorded in what looks like it might be a sizeable meat locker, or somewhere large and cold. I’m sure it wasn’t a super fun shoot, but the visible breath as they perform is a nice effect. Take a look below to see if you’re among the lucky set of European or North American Cities due for a visit from George & pals and below that for the new video. All tickets will be available on general sale this Friday, January 26th via www.george-fitzgerald.com.

Tour Dates

19 March – Munich, DE – Ampere
20 March – Berlin, DE – Schwuz
21 March – Cologne, DE – Yuca
22 March – Paris, FR – Nouveau Casino
23 March – Brussels, BE – AB Club
24 March – Utrecht, NL – Catch Festival
26 March – Brighton, GB – The Haunt
27 March – London, GB – Islington Assembly Hall
28 March – Glasgow, GB – The Art School
29 March – Manchester, GB – Gorilla
09 May – San Francisco, US – The Independent
10 May – Echo Park, US – The Echo
12 May – Salt Lake City, US – Kilby Court Gallery
13 May – Denver, US – Larimer Lounge
15 May – Chicago, US – Subterranean
16 May – Toronto, CA – Drake Hotel
17 May – Montreal, CA – Bar le Ritz PDB
18 May – Boston, US – Great Scott
19 May – New York, US – Rough Trade

‘Roll Back’ Video